How I Increased My MRR by $514 in Just One Day πŸš€

Hasan Aboul Hasan
2 min readJun 13, 2024

Backstory

My website β€” featuring tools, forums, courses, data libraries, a blog, and more β€” handled high traffic on ​Kinsta​ with a special contract at ~$499

Kinsta is great, no problems there, but $499 felt a bit much.

The Plan

1. Switch to Contabo with Plesk

My techy brain kicked in, and I decided to switch to a dedicated server with Contabo and Plesk.

This transition brought me 5X the resources at just $180 per month.

Savings: $319 βœ…

2. Consolidate APIs and Other Websites

Why stop there? I moved all my APIs and other websites to Plesk, where I could manage an unlimited number of sites (theoretically)

Savings: $100 βœ…

3. Transition from Postmark to Plesk SMTP

Postmark was another expense I targeted. By configuring SMTP on Plesk, I had everything operational within 2 hours.

Savings: $55 βœ…

4. Switch from Zapier to Make

Reviewing my expenses on Notion, I found Zapier costing me $69 per month.

I switched to Make, a more affordable alternative at $19 per month, and rebuilt my automation systems.

Savings: $40 βœ…

The Results

In one day, I managed to save a total of $514:

Contabo transition: $319
APIs and websites consolidation: $100
Postmark to Plesk SMTP: $55
Zapier to Make: $40
Total Saved: ~$514

The Takeaway

Always review your expenses. You might be surprised by the savings you can achieve by eliminating or migrating services without compromising on quality. πŸ’‘

The art is not in making money, but in keeping it.

--

--

Hasan Aboul Hasan

Simplifying AI & Python Learning β€’ Publish ONLY Exclusive Research-Based Tips & Tutorials β€’ Founder @LearnWithHasan & @SimplerLLM